Ruckstell Problem

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2010: Ruckstell Problem
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bob Gruber on Thursday, February 11, 2010 - 01:00 pm:

I've been driving my old rusty T for 10 years.
Just lately the Ruckstell has gone into neutral a couple times when I hit the brakes.
When it does this the shifter is still forward all the way...I've tried pushing on it to get it back in gear but no luck.
Someone said it might be going too far into gear.
HELP!!
What can I do to fix it?
Thanks

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Richard Gould on Thursday, February 11, 2010 - 01:27 pm:

It it were me I'd take the shifter off the axel housing and check the condition of the shifting fork. It should be sharp with no center groove. I've heard of some folks attempting to create a neutral by machinging a groove in the fork. Someone may have done that prior to your owning the car.

I'd also check the tightness of the bolts holding the shifter to the axel and of course all the connections between the shifting lever at the axel and the lever in the cab. It may be nothing more than buggered holes in the long rod or excessive play in the two shifters.

One last thought. Once I had a rear end lock up when I tried to force the Ruckstell to engage when the car was at a dead stop. Good practice dictates you never attempt a shift without the car rolling. If the shoe fits . . .

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry VanOoteghem on Thursday, February 11, 2010 - 02:15 pm:

Bob,

It's probably not just one thing but instead an accumulation of wear in many parts.