T Battery question

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2010: T Battery question
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rick Adair on Friday, December 03, 2010 - 05:23 pm:

I'm just getting started on my 1925 2 tudor I purchased a couple of months ago. It had been unstarted in a garage for about 50 years before I purchased it. I have owned a 22 chassis for several years but have not done anything with it so I am a "newby" when it comes to working on the T. I have been a forum member for a few years now and have learned a great deal from the members and respect your advise. I am needing to purchase a new 6 volt battery in the near future. I want one to fit the original holder. What is a good place to shop? Any recommendations on brand type would be appreciated. I am trying to post pictures, having trouble getting them sized correctly..guess thats a question for another post!..Thank you all for your help. Rick

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Garnet on Friday, December 03, 2010 - 05:40 pm:

Seems to me it's just a 6v group 1 battery having the posts on diagonal corners Rick. You should go over your new cars wiring BEFORE hooking up the battery to make sure there will be no problems AFTER!

Regards,
Garnet

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Seth Harbuck - Shreveport, LA on Friday, December 03, 2010 - 06:08 pm:

The original battery was taller than most Group 1 batteries and a 3/4 - 1" thick wooden (or other) spacer is needed underneath.

AutoZone's Group 1 battery is the correct height according to a regular poster here that has bought one.

It's part number 1-6VOLT and it is $81.99 with a turned-in old battery.