Another new guy

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2010: Another new guy
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ed Fuller on Saturday, December 04, 2010 - 12:26 pm:

Just wanted to introduce myself to the forum. I have been lurking for a while and have learned a lot from everyone here.

My name is Ed and I have a late 1913 Touring and an "in progress" 1924 speedster. I am new to the MTFCA since I joined this year at Hershey. I guess I would say that I am not that new to T's since my Touring has been in my family since the 1950's. My grandfather bought it and left it to me when he passed. It is mostly original except for some updating and repairs here and there to keep it running. I know a lot of people will tell me it is a 1914, but it has always been 1913 to me!

Thanks for all of the knowledge so far! I hope to post some pictures of my speedster as it progresses.

touring

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By "Hap" (Harold) Tucker - Sumter, SC on Saturday, December 04, 2010 - 12:43 pm:

Ed,

Welcome aboard! Great looking touring your Grandfather left you. Note your Grandfather was not the only one to call some of those cars a 1913. Bruce McCalley states at: http://mtfca.com/encyclo/1914H.htm

“The 1914 Model T Ford style year has created a good amount of confusion. There are many “1914s” around that are called “1913” and the owners can prove that the car was, indeed, made in 1913. Further, the “1914” style was built at some of the branches in calendar 1915, and apparently at the same time that the new “1915” cars were being built at Highland Park. There is some evidence that the 1914 cars were built, at some of the branches, as late as March or April of 1915.