Wanting to learn more

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2010: Wanting to learn more
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By justin h on Tuesday, December 07, 2010 - 06:58 am:

as previously made obvious, im still rather new to model Ts, and theres still so much left for me to learn, but what seems to be escaping my understanding most of all is the ignition system

its to my understanding the model T has a magneto which catches a magnetic current from the flywheel which is then fed into coils, which feed into the spark plugs.. however, magneto devices on other systems ive looked at seem to have a coil as part of the magneto itself.

im curious to learn more about ignition system upgrades ive read about... true fire is one, and ive heard of some people running a distributor on their model Ts as well so i was curious as to how those are typically set up?.

i have to wait a while before i can get a T to start working on, so until them im looking to learn more, when it does come time for me to rebuild one im still rather split on what i want as far as certain aspects go.. part of me wants to stay with the origional ignition, and the other part sees an automatic advance as a safety issue (many poor drivers on the road, freeing up brainpower used to tune the spark advance can be used defending myself from these drivers)

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Kenny Edmondson, Indy on Tuesday, December 07, 2010 - 07:13 am:

Justin, where do you live? You need to get hooked up with someone locally that has a T. You could look over it and ask questions. Seeing things visually while having them explained would help you to understand easier.