6 volt to 12 volt

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2012: 6 volt to 12 volt
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Joe Bohannon on Wednesday, January 11, 2012 - 06:59 pm:

Sorry I am new to T's. What would happen if you put a 12 volt battery in a T.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Doug Wilson on Wednesday, January 11, 2012 - 07:01 pm:

You will need a 12 volt generator, regulator, and light bulbs. I cannot speak for a model T but I ran 12 volts through a '53 flathead starter and never had a problem.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Henry Petrino in Modesto, CA on Wednesday, January 11, 2012 - 07:16 pm:

An alternative to a 12 volt generator is a 12 volt alternator. Doug is right about the light bulbs, too. A 12 Volt system is hard on the old 6 volt starters. There are 12 volt starters available also. The ignition system will work fine either way, 6 or 12 volt.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Doug Money, Braidwood, IL on Wednesday, January 11, 2012 - 08:20 pm:

What extra items do you have on the car that requires 12 volt?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield, KS on Wednesday, January 11, 2012 - 08:21 pm:

Why? Six volts is fine. If something's not working right, fix it. I start a 1923 Ford Model T, a 1945 Allis Chalmers Model B, and a 1951 Dodge pickup on six volts with no trouble.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ted Dumas on Wednesday, January 11, 2012 - 10:13 pm: