1913 Runabout Colors

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2005: 1913 Runabout Colors
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Brian Harlamoff on Thursday, January 31, 2008 - 10:55 pm:

Hello Everyone,
This is my first time on the forum. I have just bought a two owner 1913 Runabout with original wood, upholstery, correct engine and chassis pieces, lamps etc. The head gasket was blown, there was some grief in the crankcase and the tires were wearing strange. They painted over grease and original Arizona mud on the chassis. The springs had been broken and repaired etc, so I am restoring the engine and chassis at this point and may repaint the body the original dark blue. (it's black now) As long as I am at it, I would rather restore the car correctly as not it is the same amount of work. This is a mid April of 1913 car. I tend to get a bit carried away, however can anyone offer up advice on the following:
1) Color of the bronze fan hub? Bare or painted?
2) Hood latch sills. I assume that these are painted body color?
3) Hood. I assume that this is body color as well?
4) Door Jams: Body color or black?
5) Steering wheel nut: polished brass or painted?
6) Metal strips across top of door, body etc. Body color?
7) Deck lid handles: Body color?
8) Backgrounds of lettering in the hubcaps. They look black in photos.
9) The fan was replaced with one from a 1917. I found a bronze one. Should this car have a brass grease cup on the fan hub?

I am really thrilled to own this great car. I have always wanted an early runabout. Your help is appreciated.
Best regards,
Brian in Santa Cruz CA

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By dave willis on Friday, February 01, 2008 - 02:00 am: