Valve seat grinding.

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2005: Valve seat grinding.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mack Jeffrey Cole on Tuesday, February 05, 2008 - 10:28 pm:

I am lucky to have a buddy that picked up a Siuox "spelling" valve refaceing machine.Tonight He did a set of valves for me and a couple spares and boy they look good.
He ask about the valve seats in the block.The seats look ok to me,maby 1 that will need a little more lapping than the rest,#4 exhaust seat is a little rough.
He said I should get some body to do the seats.
I have a 45 degree black and decker cutter but I dont have the pilot or a handle to work it.I picked up a OLD black and decker drive motor and some cutters and a few pilots but nothing will work on the T block except for that 1 thing that says turn by hand.
I am confused because my dad says you use a blue grinding stone to clean up the seats,not a cutter.He says that just centers it for ye.

I shoulda took a picture of the stuff I have and posted it.

Anyhow my question is,Other than spending 500 bucks or more,is there not a grinding stone and pilot that can be had to do T valve seats?
I can take the block to a shop I know of and probably leave it 2 weeks and hope he dont knock it off in the floor and bust it and pay out the yingyang.
I cant stand farming out work,but on this 3rd T project I have allready had to farm out the sandblasting,get a machinst buddy to clean up the threads on the rear spring clamps and now had to farm out the valve refaceing.I want to do as much on this project myself as I can more or less for the learning experiance and of course to save a buck if I can.