Need Suggestions for Overseas Shipping

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2005: Need Suggestions for Overseas Shipping
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Alan Woolf on Wednesday, February 06, 2008 - 01:01 pm:

From time to time I have a need to ship a package to Europe or Australia. What is the best and most cost effective way to ship a package to a foreign country? I need to add that this would be a private transaction and not though a business.

Alan

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Brian Harlamoff on Wednesday, February 06, 2008 - 01:23 pm:

Alan,
I am not an expert, but in the process of selling parts on Ebay, I have learned the following. USPS no longer will ship via surface. You would not have wanted to do that in any case, as it would take up to two months transit. USPS has recently changed their shipping to match the rest of the world. The most reasonable method is called 1st Class mail. For small packages up to 4 pounds (?), this is the most reasonable method that USPS uses. Your next option is a Priority Flat Rate Box. You can calculate postage and size limits for USPS online. Try this:
http://www.usps.com/tools/calculatepostage/welcome.htm?from=home&page=0061calcul atepostage

No doubt our online friends have tried other services and can lend some advice. Basically, it comes down to size and weight. The above is for fairly small items. Not sure what to do with heavy stuff these days.
Regards,
Brian

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Royce on Wednesday, February 06, 2008 - 01:34 pm:

I've used USPS to ship parts sold on Ebay to many countries. Never a problem and very easy.