Pistons, what should I buy?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2005: Pistons, what should I buy?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Morse on Monday, February 11, 2008 - 01:23 pm:

I'm new to T engines, or any other engine for that matter so please bear with me. After seeing the thread on clearances on aluminum pistons I started to wonder. I've recently had my cylinders bored to .030 oversize and I had planned on buying domed aluminum pistons sometime in the very near future.

My Dad and brother each bought theirs from Egge a number of years ago and seem good so far, but they really haven't put many miles on their cars yet. Anybody dare make specific recommendations of who I should or should not purchase them from?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Richard Gould on Monday, February 11, 2008 - 02:24 pm:

I haven't heard anything bad about any of the pistons available. If you set them up correctly I seriously doubt if you'll have a problem with any of them. I have used Egge brand as well as different ones, probably imports, from Langs, Chaffins and Sacramento Vintage Ford. I have also used cast iron pistons. No problems I can recall.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry VanOoteghem on Monday, February 11, 2008 - 04:06 pm:

It's usually good practice to buy your pistons first, (from whomever you decide), and THEN have your cylinders bored & honed to fit.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Seth Harbuck on Monday, February 11, 2008 - 04:29 pm:

Mike,

In the interest of preventing piston seizures when you first start your engine, IMO, do the following: