Startup of rebuilt engine?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2005: Startup of rebuilt engine?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rod Letcher on Tuesday, February 12, 2008 - 08:10 pm:

Hello guy's & gal's, I'm new to the MTFCA and this forum. I recently acquired a couple of "T"'s (A 21 Runabout and a 22 Speedster. The Speedster didn't run when I got it, and it tok me a couple of weeks to get it going. However it has a significant engine knock (probably a rod?). When I bought it, it came with what the PO claimed was a newly rebuilt 2nd engine (he had bought it at an estate sale). It does appear to have been rebuilt but not sure how long ago. Here is my question: Is there anything specific I should be doing after I switch engines other than adding new oil. Has anyone used a product called "Smart Blend Engine Primer" http://www.northernautoparts.com/ProductModelDetail.cfm?ProductModelId=11173
I'm not sure where to inject this stuff if I was to use it?
Thanks for any advice, I am looking forward to participating in this forum.

Rod

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By James A. Golden on Tuesday, February 12, 2008 - 10:18 pm:

The last rebuilt engine that I installed and started had 2 quarts of oil and 2 quarts of diesel fuel for the initial test. The engine started with the starter. The first three or four turns were tight and then it turned easily. The engine might have ran ten minutes at a time for an hour total. Then the oil was drained and replaced with 5W-30. That appears to be a winning mixture, as the engine is running great.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By val Soupios on Tuesday, February 12, 2008 - 11:53 pm: