1922 Coupe - magneto vs distributor/ generator

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2005: 1922 Coupe - magneto vs distributor/ generator
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Denny on Wednesday, February 20, 2008 - 10:39 am:

I'm new to this "T" thing so please be patient. I am currently rebuilding a '22 coupe from the ground up and have a couple questions:
1)Can I convert the electrical system from a magneto/coil system to a distributor/generator system and remove the magnets,coil etc to save weight?
2)Where would I attach the generator?
3)Will it effect the value of the car?
4)Are there blueprints available for the wood top bows and roof?
5)Did '22 coupes have sunvisors or were they only on later models.
6)Did '22 coupes have interior rear view mirrors and side mirrors?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Royce on Wednesday, February 20, 2008 - 11:13 am:

1. Yes but why remove the magenets? Any improvement in performance from removing them would be negligable.
2. Ford a generator on your car as standard original equipment. It should already have one. It bolts on to the engine on the passenger side at the front.
3. Yes, adding a distributor and removing the magnets will hurt the value because a complete engine disassembly would be required to return the car to its original condition.
4. Not that I know of
5. No
6. No

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Paul Vitko on Wednesday, February 20, 2008 - 04:23 pm:

Denny,