Constant spark at all four spark plugs

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2005: Constant spark at all four spark plugs
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Sam Renck on Tuesday, March 18, 2008 - 07:54 pm:

I am very new with model tís and have very little knowledge of their engines or ignitions. The 1914 touring I am trying to get started is getting a constant spark at all four of the spark plugs when I connect a 12v battery to the battery post of the coil box and have the key switched to bat. I was wondering if this is normal or if something is not wired properly. If I disconnect the battery and crank the motor with the plugs out I do not get any buzz from the coils or any sparks from the plugs. Please help I cannot wait to hear this thing run..

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Charles Martin on Tuesday, March 18, 2008 - 08:19 pm:

Get a copy of the wiring diagram and trace out the wires. Sounds like someone did not wire the timer correctly. I don't have a copy on this machine, I am sure another member will post it for you. Whats the history of your T? Did you ever see it run? Recently restored?
Good luck!!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jim Patrick - (2) '26's - Bartow, FL on Tuesday, March 18, 2008 - 08:43 pm:

Hi Sam. Welcome. Model T's were originally designed with a 6 volt system. Unless your Model t was converted to a 12 volt system, you should be using a 6 Volt battery.

Do you have any books to help you along? If not, please explore the Forum for information using the keyword search, before jumping right in, or you could get badly hurt. For some basics, click onto some past Forum threads:

www.mtfca.com/discus/messages/29/15776.html