Freight companies. Ship T Engine short block

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2013: Freight companies. Ship T Engine short block
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By JAMES STARKEY Naperville, IL on Monday, May 13, 2013 - 02:36 pm:

I've no experience with shipping small (LTL) freight. I'm ready to ship my T 'short block' for a rebuild.

This is a crated engine (no pan). It's class (they all seem to ask for this in the online quotes) is around, class- 150. The crate should weigh about 275. I'm shipping from Chicagoland region to West of Alexandria, VA (about 700 miles).

I'm guessing at the weight. Fully assembled block & head = _______LBS. ????

I can deliver it to a depot if it's not too far. It's going to a legit business address with a loading dock. Fed-X comes in at $405.00 (That seems high) and I just began Social Security so economy is the keyword here.

Any suggestions for a good freight company that may save me a hundred bucks or more would be most welcome!
Jimmy
1923 Faultless Boat tail Speedster

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ed in California on Monday, May 13, 2013 - 02:39 pm:

I would check into shipping the bare block by fed ex or UPS, with the crank and cam in a different box.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By JAMES STARKEY Naperville, IL on Monday, May 13, 2013 - 02:50 pm:

Sorry, that wont work. Shop wants assembled block with fixed head in one crate. Jimmy

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Kevin Whelihan on Monday, May 13, 2013 - 03:07 pm: