Thrown Rod or Broken Bearing in 1926 Model T

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2013: Thrown Rod or Broken Bearing in 1926 Model T
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Peter Taylor on Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 07:43 am:

Ok,

Just to let you know, I am new to Model T's and these forums.

We recently obtained a 1926 Model T Fordor. And three days ago, we were driving up a hill, when, there was a loud clang and all of a sudden the engine got real loud. When we tried to slow down, something started knocking around the engine area. So long-story short, we got home and we're not sure if we threw a rod or one of the bearings finally gave out. I think we should take off the oil pan, but, I don't if we will have to remove anything else. Basically, I need to know how to access the pistons.

Thanks

Peter

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By CharlesHebert on Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 07:57 am:

Drop the oil inspection pan to see if you can find which rod it is. You will have to pull the head to access the piston and the rod. Then push the rod and the piston through the top. it would be good time to check all the rods while the inspection pan is off..

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Roger Karlsson, southern Sweden on Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 08:01 am:

Buy the Model T bible - everything regarding disassembly and assembly is covered there: http://www.modeltford.com/item/T1.aspx

Nowadays you can't get new cheap genuine Ford spare parts as easy as the mechanics who used that book when new, so you may find the MTFCA repair manuals useful too: http://modeltstore.myshopify.com/products/service-manuals