Opinion on best model t timer

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Classifieds: Opinion on best model t timer
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By mike kolsrud on Wednesday, October 12, 2016 - 11:13 am:

Just wondering what timer you experts think is the best. sometimes experience in a certain situation is priceless knowledge .

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Roger Karlsson, southern Sweden on Wednesday, October 12, 2016 - 12:44 pm:

I'm no expert, but I've read a lot of experiences from knowledgeable and experienced folks over the years. You can't go wrong with a good original Ford timer if it's serviced (= cleaned and oiled) often, but they aren't made anymore. You may find a good one that is possible to refurbish for more miles, but nowadays there are many other good alternatives if you can't find one;

First you should check the engine where the cam shaft comes out of the timing cover - if you have the old brass shield and a felt packing, you may consider change to a modern seal - less risk for a worn out or misfitting brass shield causing misfire. https://www.modeltford.com/item/3177OS.aspx

In the order they comes to mind, not necessary in order of preference (I use a high tension magneto on my T :-) )

1. The TW timer has a carbon brush that doesn't wear out its housing as fast and works very nice - until the brush wears away. No need for oiling, just keep a new brush ready for when it wears out. http://www.twcomponents.com/

2. The new New Day brush timer. New Day has been a favorite timer for many since the 20's - but their reputation got tarnished by bad repros made of soft plastic. Now a new company, Tip Top Timers in Spokane, Wa makes better repros, should give good service: http://www.tiptoptimers.com/