For Sale: 1920 Centerdoor Sedan $5,900 (Houston, Texas)

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Classifieds: For Sale: 1920 Centerdoor Sedan $5,900 (Houston, Texas)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Hanson on Friday, March 31, 2017 - 11:50 am:

For Sale – 1920 Centerdoor Sedan – $5,900

I purchased this car last year from a dealer in Georgia. The car was formerly in the collection of Truett Cathy, the founder of Chick-fil-A. When I received the car, the clutch had issues so I started a rehab project on the engine that morphed into a full drivetrain overhaul with which I have limited experience.

The photo below is of when I purchased her last year. I will be posting additional photos this afternoon of the current status.

Here is where things are at:

The engine, which was running when I removed from the car, needs an overhaul. At some point in the past, someone drilled a head bolt into the water inlet. It was sealed up fairly well by an old repair, but will need to be either repaired again or the block itself replaced. All the parts for the engine are there – manifolds, carburetor, fan, etc. – to put it all back together. The transmission bands will need to be replaced. The radiator appears to be fairly new and is in good shape and the gas tank is serviceable. I will supply a new rebuilt Holley NH carbureator at a cost of $200 plus a new gasket set and Kevlar band kit.

I removed the original rear end and replaced it with one that Ross Lilleker recently rebuilt at a cost of $2000. Both come with the car. I just replaced the 8-leaf rear spring with a brand new one from T-Springs at a cost of $750. The original spring comes with the car.

The tires are old, but holding air. The rims are the Kelsey type.