Is this the predecessor to the Model T magneto?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: Is this the predecessor to the Model T magneto?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rob Heyen - Nebraska on Thursday, January 23, 2014 - 06:23 pm:

What's your opinion? I'm no magneto expert, and would like to hear your comments about this design compared with the Model T magneto.

Ed "Spider" Huff developed this magneto (according to the patent application) and the patent application dated July 1, 1905, Henry Ford assignor. Holley Brothers produced the mag and Ford used it on the Model K.

The following interview with Ed Huff and George Holley discuss how the magneto is different from other magnetos on the market.

Another forum member sent me this Holley advertisement giving invention credit to Ed Huff. Some of this was included on another thread but was buried so I'm re posting the interview:

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Royce in Dallas TX on Thursday, January 23, 2014 - 07:10 pm:

It seems to be an alternator that is used to power a coil, similar in theory to a Model T ignition system except one thing. The Model K version does not use anything other than the timer to select the event timing of the spark. The Model K alternator is simply a source of voltage to power the coil. It ought to be pretty reliable, but the car likely would run better on a 12 volt battery because cylinder to cylinder spark variation will be less on battery.

In modern terms it would be considered a variable frequency variable voltage permanent magnet AC Generator. Often referred to by the acronym PMG.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rob Heyen - Nebraska on Thursday, January 23, 2014 - 10:58 pm: