Spash apron frustration

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: Spash apron frustration
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By michael grady on Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 07:06 pm:

newbie here..

16 touring: reattaching splash apron and running boards.

Aside from the question I have from my previous thread (which I'm working out)I'm having difficulty attaching the splash aprons. In the attached photo, I have the aprons attached to the body (the the body bolts go through the apron holes and frame brackets).

However, as you can see the apron really sticks out way too far to attach the running boards. I have tried forcing them back and have even messed up up the paint job on the aprons in doing so. I don't think they could have flattened out in the two years they have been off.

am I missing a step here? Should I continue to force them back?

Any photos would really help.

Thanks guys!

Michaelaprons

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jack Daron - Brownsburg IN on Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 07:16 pm:

RB sets on that lip and should slide back far enough to insert bolts. You can always re-arch them over a telephone pole,so they are easier.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By michael grady on Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 07:25 pm:

should I just force them back and fix the paint latter :-( ??

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jack Daron - Brownsburg IN on Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 07:38 pm:

Only you can make that decision.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dan Hatch on Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 07:40 pm:

Michael: Did they get sandblasted? Dan