NOOB (earlier T or later T as first car)

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: NOOB (earlier T or later T as first car)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Probst on Thursday, February 20, 2014 - 11:32 pm:

As a newbie, I'd like someone's advice on whether my first car should be a magneto only ignition. I always envisioned buying a post 1919 electric start as my first T (so that I can learn without the extra complication of having to hand crank start).

However, I have found an earlier (magneto only) car that I'm interested in. Can someone tell me how "finicky" a magneto only, hand crank car might be for a newbie? Is it taboo to install a 12v battery to supply the coil for more reliable starting?

First post (by the way). Great forum. I hope to be here for a while as I will have many questions.

Thanks

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Thursday, February 20, 2014 - 11:39 pm:

Six volts is plenty, if you need a battery. Here's how hard it is to crank start:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCWnmPrxKo0

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ryan Glowacki on Thursday, February 20, 2014 - 11:45 pm:

Steve, if the car is in good working order, mag starting cars are no problem. I am a new t owner too and I enjoy crank starting my truck. To me it is part of the fun....getting it going. The guy I bought it from had never crank started it as he was very old. He pulled it and started it. I read the instructions in the manual and followed them and it fires up no problem.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Thursday, February 20, 2014 - 11:47 pm: