'27 Coupe Stuck in Gear

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: '27 Coupe Stuck in Gear
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Randy Stevens on Sunday, March 02, 2014 - 08:24 pm:

Hello,
Just bought my first Model T. It's a 1927 coupe.. It's coming out of about a 48 year storage. It seems to be stuck in gear so I figured a clutch pak or something is stuck from sitting. But since I'm just learning on these cars I'm not sure where to look first. Any help would be appreciated.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Terry Woods, Katy, Texas on Sunday, March 02, 2014 - 08:44 pm:

Randy, Can you explain further what you mean "stuck in gear"? What position do you have the hand clutch/emergency brake lever in? All the way forward, puts the trans in a mode to go into forward (low and high). Straight up, takes the trans out of out forward gear mode and allows you to reverse, pressing the R or middle pedal. All the way back is the emergency brake, if they are installed and adjusted right, I presume you know all of the above. It certainly is possible for the clutch pack to be stuck after setting up a number of years, but 'rocking the car' or pulling it forward with either the hand lever forward or straight up should loosen things if it is possible without doing a tear down.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Randy Stevens on Sunday, March 02, 2014 - 09:18 pm: