OT - End of Microsoft Support for XP

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: OT - End of Microsoft Support for XP
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ricks - Surf City on Thursday, March 06, 2014 - 09:40 am:

I have been lugging a laptop since 1987, before Windows and mice, and still use the F keys, as they are faster and lower tension than point and click. XP was the last operating system that uses the F keys fully. Office 2003 is the same.

At this point, especially, I don't want to go through the agony of a new OS. Am I alone? Is there an alternative to Window 7?

OT of the OT: I will copy my Model T files to a stick if somebody would like them.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Strange on Thursday, March 06, 2014 - 10:12 am:

I plan to stick with Windows XP until my computer becomes nearly unusable with it, then buy a new computer with whatever the latest version of Windows is at that time. I keep all my files backed up onto a 500 GB flash drive, so moving my files to the new computer will be easy.

My Avast antivirus / firewall software has been hounding me to switch my default browser from Explorer to Google Chrome because Explorer for Windows XP isn't going to be supported anymore. Since my default browser is already set to Chrome and I normally use Chrome, I have been ignoring the messages.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Chuck Hoffman - Gold Country of Calif. on Thursday, March 06, 2014 - 10:19 am:

I'll continue to use XP, supported or not, until Micro$oft comes up with a decent OS. It's still possible to get a new PC with Win 7 installed which, at least, can be made to look like XP.