Trouble pulling hills

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: Trouble pulling hills
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By michael grady on Tuesday, March 11, 2014 - 07:24 pm:

newbie here..

Just finishing up my 16 touring restoration. Rebuilt engine - starts great, does well in low gear up hills. Runs fine at idle with both gas and spark advance all the way in the up position.

I'm having a lot of trouble pulling up even small hills around my neighborhood. I can't imagine this is correct, and I had a guy who is familiar with model ts helping putting the top on today. He took it for a ride and agreed it should pull the small hills I am having trouble on with no problem. Something is not right.

It does not seem to be slipping, but seems to strain quite a bit, slow way down, and barley chug up the hills. Often I have to climb in low speed so it doesn't stall.

He suggested perhaps the timer might be an issue.

Wondering if you guys might have any other thoughts.

Thanks in advance!

Michael

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Kerry van Ekeren (Australia) on Tuesday, March 11, 2014 - 07:38 pm:

It takes a lot of miles to run-in a fresh rebuild, see what it's like after 5or6 hundred up on it, just watch the temp.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Fred Dimock, Newfields NH, USA on Tuesday, March 11, 2014 - 08:06 pm:

My lawn tractor has more power than my Model T so I am not surprised when it slows and i have to use low down when it encounters a hill

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry VanOoteghem on Tuesday, March 11, 2014 - 08:18 pm: