OT: doea liquid solder work as well as hot solder?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: OT: doea liquid solder work as well as hot solder?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Robert Poane on Wednesday, March 12, 2014 - 08:36 pm:

I need to solder my RC helicopter circuit board but the board is SO tiny I do not feel comfortable with an electrical solder iron. Besides, soldering is not my strong point. A train forum thread said liquid solder has high resistance. Any suggestions? Thank you! Bob

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Donnie Brown on Wednesday, March 12, 2014 - 09:12 pm:

I am no expert but I think liquid solder is not a solder it is a glue/epoxy type material. It has very little to no electricAL transfer. You need to solder it. Go to Radio Shack. They may know someone in your area to do it for you.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bud Holzschuh - Panama City, FL on Wednesday, March 12, 2014 - 09:37 pm:

Robert

I used to solder for a living - its not that hard.

Couple suggestions:

1. both items your soldering must be immaculately clean! If its copper wire or traces on a pc board they must be bright and shiny

2. Use ONLY rosin core solder made for electronic work - nothing else!

3. For a newbie, it helps to "tin" or put a light coating of solder on each piece before you solder them together.

4. Most important - use enough heat so the solder "flows" on. Don't "dab" it on or "puddle" it on.

5. Practice soldering a few wires together first. When you have it right the solder joints will look slick and smooth.

Good luck - you can do it!