Original Meaning of automobile Terms

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: Original Meaning of automobile Terms
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By George_Cherry Hill NJ on Friday, March 28, 2014 - 01:37 am:

Some guys have a hang-up about correct spelling…other guys have a hang-up as to how many decimal places a number should be or how rounding should work. Me, my OC tends to peak when modernisms and ancient-isms tend to get intermingled, and then folks tend to use this new jargon to mean two things at once.

I’m not a word doctor, we already have a few of them (entymologist)…so even though I am at work 1/2 way around the world, I know a guy but 100 miles from me here who has a complete set of 1909 issue “Automobile Engineering Cyclopedia” which is a reissue of the 1902/1906 work with new stuff added.

Yes…you could learn how to build a car or how cars worked or how others had already tried to build them including details - Cyclopedia mail order from The American School of Correspondence – Chicago. This guys copies are the only real ones that I know exist, he's the iron windmill man for China...and my company foundry makes all of his castings for him and on certain days he wants to kick back and at the same time let me browse through his collections of 'stuff' which is literally falling apart.

So I looked up the magic word, and I should have known…Torpedo not there (yet) but I always use a glass twice as big as necessary…so here is also what I found from the birthing days…and not after the definitions had been polluted by decades of marketing.

Magneto – A machine in which there are no field, magnet, coils; the magnetic field of the machine being due to the action of the permanent steel magnets. Formerly referred to as Magneto – Electric Generator.