OT - My American Underslung

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: OT - My American Underslung
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Alan Woolf on Sunday, March 30, 2014 - 10:32 pm:

Since David added the post about Underslung's at Amelia I thought it was time to show y'all what I have been working on for the last six years. In March 2008 I went to Chickasha with a friend and we picked up my 1914 American Underlsung that was literally in pieces. It started out as a 95% complete basket with some assembly required. We loaded in his trailer and brought it home. With the help of my father and brothers we have been working on getting back together. Over that time period we rebuilt the engine, transmission, and rear axle along with getting new wheels and rims made and fabricating lots of small hardware that was missing and not available. And did I mention to add to the fun my brother Jim bought a 1911 Model T touring that has also been undergoing a full restoration.
Right after Hershey last year I received an invitation to show the American chassis as part of the Underslung class at Amelia. The race was on to get things painted and powder coated and and the chassis assembled. To add to the distraction mother nature dropped a couple of ice storms on Atlanta just to make it more interesting. We got it done and I was very gratified at the very positive comments that we received at the show. We'll get another chance to show it when it is all together. Hopefully that will be sooner than later. In the meantime I am still driving my 13 T and still enjoy it very much.
The photos show loading at Chickasha, before and during Amelia, and a factory photo of what it will look like.
Alan