Seeing Customers In My Model T

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: Seeing Customers In My Model T
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bill Everett on Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 11:02 am:

When I first started work (Jimmy Carter was in his first year as President), I drove my predecessor around in a '74 Impala four-door sedan to see our customers; I drove, he directed.

It seems that I've almost always been able to find somewhere again that I drove to originally; if I'm a passenger, no.

Now with a Garmin, Mapquest, and Google Maps, my sense of direction and homing-pigeon "gift" is obsolete.

I want to drive my T around to see customers. I enjoy telling them that as a pump salesman, my car doesn't have any.

Now, I use the Garmin to optimize driving time. Is there a way for the T to keep a Garmin or iPad charged? If not, does anyone know a long-term battery that would keep it working all day?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Charlie B actually in Toms River N.J. on Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 11:09 am:

I have to assume that any small 12 vt. battery, like a riding lawn mower has, would keep it going a heck of a long time. If your car has a battery I'm not sure about how hooking the GPS up to the basically un-regulated T system would affect it but there you go.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Erik Johnson on Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 11:12 am:

This retailer is well known and has a good reputation. A few months ago, I bought an aftermarket replacement battery for my Mac for substantially less than I would have paid for an OEM battery at the Apple store.

Example of back-up/auxiliary Ipad batteries:

http://eshop.macsales.com/search/ipad+battery