Still dragging

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: Still dragging
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By michael grady on Sunday, April 13, 2014 - 02:21 pm:

Hi Guys,

Newbie here - 16 touring restoration.

I'm still trying to figure out why I'm having so much drag. I was looking at the model t lubrication chart and noticed my front drive bearing didn't have a lubrication fitting. It only had a cap on it ( labeled 'A'). The bottom only had a cap as well, but I replaced it with a grease fitting (bottom view labeled 'c')

Should there be a fitting in the spot labeled "A"?

if so, what size fitting should I order? It appears this is were the pin is that holds the drive shaft onto the universal.

What am I missing here? Please excuse the lack of depth of field - not much light down there :-)

Thanks so much for the help!

Kind regards,

Michaeltop viewbottom view

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Stephen D Heatherly on Sunday, April 13, 2014 - 02:33 pm:

Michael, it appears your torque tube was installed upside down. The zerk fitting should be on the top. The plug A is just an access hole for the U-joint pin. Also, there is a hole in the ball on the end of the torque tube that is supposed to line up with the large grease cup. Since the torque tube is upside down and the ball joint cap is not your U-joint is not going to get any grease. The ball joint cap needs to be rotated 180 degrees so that the grease cup is down.

Stephen

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Sunday, April 13, 2014 - 02:43 pm: