Mill Your Own Head?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: Mill Your Own Head?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Pat Kelly on Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 01:47 am:

Anyone mill your own head? If so, what set up did you use, tooling and so on? PK

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Roger Karlsson, southern Sweden on Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 04:54 am:

I've never worked with milling machines before, but still I didn't think it was hard to do - I milled my Prus head 0.100" last week, increased the compression ratio from about 5:1 to 5.8:1. See the last post in this thread: http://www.mtfca.com/discus/messages/411944/422844.html?1399254706

I used 6 M24 bolts, about 3" long, ground to equal length to support the head when upside down. M12 bolts about 6" long with washers fit fine in the T-slots in the milling table, they held the head down through the spark plug holes. An extra clamp in the water outlet finished the clamping. First I checked the levelling by going over the head with the cutter as close I could to see where it first began to cut, then checked the opposing side how much I had to move the table up to cut there too. It seemed ok, so I went ahead and milled - but just about 0.3mm or 0.012" in each cut. I could very likely have cut more in each pass, but I was a bit extra careful since it was my first time milling. This head was aluminum, much softer than cast iron, maybe I'll try one of my high heads next, they're less of a loss if anything goes wrong (got three of them)