No compression on any cylinders. Two cylinders will push thumb up. Any thoughts?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2014: No compression on any cylinders. Two cylinders will push thumb up. Any thoughts?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jim Harwood on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 03:15 pm:

Should I pull head to see what I can find?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Kriegel Mishawaka Indiana on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 03:23 pm:

Jim I AM A BEGINNER but I am now repairing an engine with very low compression that would not run (20 PSI measured) or less

First I assume the engine will not run

Yes after measuring the compression on each cylinder I did pull the head no blow by on the head gasket (good)

When I pulled the pistons, I found a very large gap in the worn piston rings (1/2 inch or more)

I did measure the bores, checked and pulled each valve and relapped the valve face in the head

installed new rings being careful to check the proper gap offset by 120 degrees

I hope to fire it up tomorrow but it has a tremendous improvement in compression

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jim Harwood on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 03:25 pm:

Good luck!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Hal Davis-SE Georgia on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 03:34 pm: