Tech tips

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Tech tips
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Scott Lay,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Lancaster Ca. on Monday, January 05, 2015 - 01:00 pm:

I sent my engine out for o/h and the trans. to another shop for o/h. I had to use separate shops. Hopefully I will be putting them together soon and installing them in my 26 roadster. This is my third T but my first for assembling a short block and installing. I am a motorcycle mechanic NOT a T mechanic. In the old days we used to use gasgacinch in the old cars we worked on as a kid but that was a long time ago. Any advise or tips on what to use or things to do during assembly?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Zibell on Monday, January 05, 2015 - 02:33 pm:

Scott,

I suggest you get the pan straightened, or at least checked. Then you will need to set up the Magneto. Is the transmission shop charging the magnets and leveling? Have you had your coil ring rebuilt yet? A copy of the electrical book will help you as well as advice from the forum. I also work on Motorcycles and learning T hasn't been too difficult.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Scott Lay,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Lancaster Ca. on Monday, January 05, 2015 - 02:42 pm:

Hi John. My car runs off a distributor and the mag has been removed somewhere down the line. The trans guy is checking the pan.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Philip Berg on Monday, January 05, 2015 - 03:02 pm:

Spent the last two weeks assembling my first t engine. Built several car engines and motorcycle engines over the years so I didn't think a t engine was any different. It wasn't.