How long did it take to make a crankshaft in 1908?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: How long did it take to make a crankshaft in 1908?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Conte on Thursday, January 08, 2015 - 10:01 pm:

Being a machinist I find this video hypnotic, sort of like watching a symphony. Everything has to be perfectly timed, one wrong calculation and it's off to the scrapheap.
I wonder what Henry Ford would say about it?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=81UjjSH2iFw

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Kossor - Kenilworth, NJ on Thursday, January 08, 2015 - 10:34 pm:

Amazing! Can't believe how fast that machines the work. Thanks for sharing.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ted Dumas on Thursday, January 08, 2015 - 10:51 pm:

Henry would be amazed by the capabilities of NC machining. On the other hand he would be disturbed hogging out the crank instead of starting with a forging and doing minimal machining thereby not wasting a lot of material and machine time. I suspect the Dodge brothers would have had the process of forging and machining a crankshaft down pretty well in 1908. Seems like the NC process took about half an hour, assuming it was not edited. I suspect the production crankshafts of 1908 took a while longer, I would guess with one set of machines about 4 crankshafts a day could be made.

I was a little surprised none of the cutters had chip breakers which resulted in long spirals of cuttings. I suspect a final grinding of the journals would be required. Some of them seemed a little rough and I doubt they were true within 0.0005 as a modern crank would be.