Where do you mount the tail light?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Where do you mount the tail light?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Collin Johnson on Wednesday, January 28, 2015 - 11:52 am:

Ok, I am a novice...I admit. I have the tail light bracket, and tail light (not the correct one for a '17 T, but a later electric model), but I don't know where it mounts.

I thought it mounted to the frame, but that isn't wide enough, or the underside of the body...but again, there is not a place wide enough to mount it there.

If you could tell me "The tail light is mounted "X" inches from the "X" on the drivers side" that would help...

Thanks!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Hal Davis-SE Georgia on Wednesday, January 28, 2015 - 12:09 pm:

It is probably not that simple, as I believe there were quite a few different brackets. The one on our '18 Touring mounts to the wooden subframe of the body left of center.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Seth from NC on Wednesday, January 28, 2015 - 12:34 pm:

Collin would you post a picture of what you have? Would be easier for folks to tell and/or show you where and how they mounted theirs.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Collin Johnson on Wednesday, January 28, 2015 - 12:48 pm:

I can post a pic, but it will be tonight. It is a standard 15-22 Touring bracket, like Snyder's part #T 3660-C. The car is a '17 (ok, '18... since engine date: 30 Aug '17)touring.

Hal: that's where I thought it mounted, but the square carriage bolt holes and relatively small area on the wood subframe got me wondering if it mounted to the frame or ... ???