5 popular myths about Ford and his Model T

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: 5 popular myths about Ford and his Model T
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Conte on Thursday, January 29, 2015 - 04:29 pm:

http://www.autoblog.com/photos/5-popular-myths-about-ford-and-his-model-t/?icid= maing-grid7%7Cmaing17%7Cdl30%7Csec1_lnk2%26pLid%3D605574#image-1

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Chris Bamford, Edmonton AB on Thursday, January 29, 2015 - 05:31 pm:

Well I'm no expert, but there seems to be as many errors in this article as the writer is claiming to debunk...

Page 2: A special license was required to operate a Model T in 1927??

Page 3: Implies Benz and Olds used moving assembly lines previous to Ford. I don't think so.

Page 4: Ford doubled wages from from the current $2.25/HOUR in 1913?? $2.25/DAY is more like it.

Page 5: Henry Ford "never" worked on the design of the Model T??

Page 6: "Rumor had it that Ford would send agents into junkyards to retrieve used parts and install them in new models to save money." I've only owned and been reading about Model Ts for 23 years ó perhaps some of the experienced members of the Forum can confirm if this is a rumor worthy of the description "popular myth".

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bud Holzschuh - Panama City, FL on Thursday, January 29, 2015 - 06:17 pm:

The way I read the article, it IS saying that #6 is a myth.

Also I think they already took #2 down (couldn't find it)

Another myth I heard (not in that article) is that Ford designed the T engine to run on alcohol or that it could be tuned to run on alcohol.

Fun post though - any more myths out there ?