Newbie - Starter / Power Questions

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Newbie - Starter / Power Questions
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By T Thompson on Sunday, February 08, 2015 - 03:21 pm:

Hey Guys,

Took my 1923 out for my first drive today..

I got a bunch of work completed on 1923 touring and with weather hitting 40 today I took her out for a ride... Couple of questions and one issue.

1) Power (Low Gear) - I have a 6v system with bad mag (next big project to get fixed).. So running purely on battery. When I take off from a full stop the car seems to struggle a bit to get up to any speed. Almost a crawl then once it gets going its ok. I'm new to driving car and have found that hand lever may have not been in true neutral (any tips there)... any other thoughts?

2) Starter Issue - During the drive and working between Low and High I stalled out the car. When I tried to restart the starter would make noise but more of a "humming" noise vs. normal. No sound of it turning over. I ended up hand cranking and started with one pull. I checked connections and all seems ok. As of now Hand crank is only way I can start her... thoughts?

Again.. I'm a total Newbie. Thanks for help.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Strange - Hillsboro, MO on Sunday, February 08, 2015 - 03:34 pm:

Regarding #1 - getting used to where neutral is takes a little practice, with the car shut off and in the garage, practice moving the brake lever back and forth so that you can "feel" the high clutch bolt come up on the lever cam.