Price check - Nice 1914 Touring car

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Price check - Nice 1914 Touring car
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Joe Fedullo on Sunday, February 22, 2015 - 10:11 am:

I am a Model A guy, but have been looking for a nice 1914 Touring for a while. We set the budget at 20K and were willing to go 25 for the right car. I have looked at several 13 - 14 touring's in the 10 - 22K price range, and have generally not seen cars I would call nice enough.

I am a fussy engineer and want the car to be correct, complete, run well, and have nice paint. I do not want rocky mountain brakes, starter, etc. About 6 months ago, I came across a very nice '14 that was a Grand National winner in the nineties. I did not see it in person, but the pictures make the car look great, and it is restored to a level better than I wanted. The seller is very firm at 30K, which I believe to be fair, but it was a bit outside of my budget so I passed.

I kept thinking about the car, and still have not found anything else I would buy. I have been looking on and off for almost two years... Last week I talked with my wife, and she said if I want it, get a crowbar and open my wallet a little further and buy the grand national winner.

So with wife approval, we have plans to head down (about 6 hours away) with a trailer and a pile of cash in the next couple of weeks. Assuming it is as nice as the pictures make it look, it has approval to come home.

Prior to doing so, just wanted to get a pulse from the group. Is 30K to steep for a really nice '14 touring? I don't see many moving at that price, but then again I don't see many this nice...