Band adjustment

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Band adjustment
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By harold lee cartwright on Sunday, February 22, 2015 - 03:03 pm:

some thing is out of adjustment as far as I can tell as soon as I release the hand brake the car is in forward can I back off the forward band to relive the pressure and how far is too far will it come apart this is my first attempt to drive a model t

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry VanOoteghem - SE Michigan on Sunday, February 22, 2015 - 03:30 pm:

Harold,

Yes, try backing off the low band adjustment. This is done by loosening the locking nut on the adjuster, located on the right side of the transmission housing. With the lock nut loose, turn the adjuster counterclockwise one turn, tighten the lock nut and test it out. Basically, you want the low pedal to be about 1" from hitting the floor board while pushing down firmly. If this doesn't help, come back here and we'll try something else to help you.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Roger Karlsson, southern Sweden on Sunday, February 22, 2015 - 03:32 pm:

There are two things that can cause the forward drag - the clutch and the low band. If it's going forward when releasing the handbrake, then I suppose it's the high speed clutch that wants to drive the car forward.

It's not sure there is anything wrong - we must establish exactly what's happening.. :-)

Can the engine run free in neutral when the hand brake is pulled?

With the engine stopped, if you release the handbrake, can you see the low pedal move up from a mid position?