Generator repair question.

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Generator repair question.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dave Wells, Hamilton Ontario on Tuesday, March 24, 2015 - 09:40 pm:

My generator died recently due to fried wiring it seems. I could send it out or replace it but, I like to try any and all T repairs myself hoping to learn along the way. I have never worked on a generator before and only know so much about how they work so don't laugh too hard. The armature showed almost no wear as did the original Ford script, Stackpole marked brushes. I cleaned it all up and installed new field coils and brushes as well as cleaning out the grooves in the small part of the armature. After reassembly, there was some binding while turning the gear. I opened it up again and as expected, the field coil blocks were rubbing on the large part of the armature. I used all the force I could to tighten the field coil screws some more and now, there is only light rubbing. Now here comes the dumb question, can the armature touch the blocks at all or does this cause an electrical short? Thanks for any help. Dave.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By keith g barrier Savannah Tn. on Tuesday, March 24, 2015 - 09:47 pm:

Dave, there is a tool made to expand the pole shoes against the case. If there is still a repair shop in your area they can probably help you out. I always try and mark the position before I remove them but they really should be expanded to make sure they stay anyway. KGB

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ted Dumas on Tuesday, March 24, 2015 - 10:12 pm:

Did you check the armature on a growler?