Stalling Motor

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Stalling Motor
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Annette Ford on Wednesday, April 08, 2015 - 11:07 am:

I am a complete novice. I purchased a 1924 Touring from the estate of a collector a few weeks ago. It was running good, but I was told by a vintage car mechanic that it needed a new starter which was installed. He also put in new spark plugs, a new battery, and replaced one bad coil. That was two weeks ago. He also told me that the magneto does not work at all. I'm having to charge the battery every day and have had no problems until yesterday when the car would start after charging the battery, but it ran rough even after increasing the spark, and kept stalling after a few minutes. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Norman T. Kling on Wednesday, April 08, 2015 - 11:14 am:

If this car has a generator, it should keep the battery charged when you drive the car. It is possible that you either have a non-operational generator or that the battery is worn out.

If you are running the coils on battery, which would be the case if the magneto doesn't work, a dead battery could be the reason for running rough and stalling.

First check the battery and generator. When you are sure they are in good condition and the car continues to stall, then it is time to check the fuel system and ignition system.
Norm

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Annette Ford on Wednesday, April 08, 2015 - 11:22 am:

The battery is new, so I don't think that is the problem. It was charged some, but probably not fully charged, just before it ran rough. Could that be the problem.