Old Warfords and what to expect?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Old Warfords and what to expect?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Chris Bartol on Wednesday, April 15, 2015 - 02:03 pm:

I'm planning to add an old cast iron Warford to my TT truck, which has a Ruckstell rear already. How "bad" are these things to use? I know everyone says you need aux brakes, but how bad is it without one if you use the handbrake?

Now, since it is a TT, it's slow right now. How much shifting is really needed for a general drive-around vehicle? Can I just leave the rear in high, leave the Warford in high and just drive without shifting all the time?

I'm new to the aux transmission debate. How often do the old ones get stuck in neutral? I took mine apart, even removing the two ball bearings, springs and caps for the shifter rods. There's one gear that's been chewed a bit (probably low), but the bearings are all good as are the other teeth, etc.

Advice (not criticism) welcome!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Henry Petrino in Modesto, CA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015 - 02:16 pm:

1. IMHO aux. brakes are a necessity with an aux. transmission. It might work for you, but I just don't believe I'm fast enough to grab and use the emergency brake lever in a crisis situation.