Steering

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Steering
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Kirk Thornley - Centerville WA on Thursday, April 16, 2015 - 11:05 pm:

I am brand new to the model t vehicle. I purchased a 1926 ford Truck (yes I know it was not originally a truck). I noticed that two things happen when I drive it. When I take a turn in the road the steering some times takes a bit to turn the T. I have also noticed that the steering wheel when going straight does not always center the same. meaning if the X steering wheel some times looks like a T and some times looks like an X in my hands. Does this sound norman? Just curious. Thanks in advance for any info

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Walker, NW AR on Thursday, April 16, 2015 - 11:48 pm:

Kirk -- It sounds like there is a lot of wear in your steering system. There are lots of places where parts get worn, all the way from your steering wheel to the wheels. All of those wear points need to be addressed. New parts are available from the T parts vendors. You can find links to them on the MTFCA home page under "Parts Suppliers."

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Walker, NW AR on Thursday, April 16, 2015 - 11:56 pm:

BTW, the MTFCA has several good books for sale which deal with the rebuilding of different areas of Model T's. Here is a link to those:

http://modeltstore.myshopify.com/products/service-manuals

The one on "Front Axle and Standard Rear Axle" has much information which will help you in re-doing your steering. You'll probably want to get several of those books to help you through the process of getting your car roadworthy.