Overheating

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Overheating
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Heavner on Tuesday, May 05, 2015 - 04:55 pm:

I am just learning to drive my 1920 roadster. I took it out around the neighborhood a couple of times in low gear and it overheated. There was one hill. Is driving it in low gear the problem. Thinking back, I may have had the spark retarded too much. Could this also cause overheating. The previous owner said it had a new radiator and ran cool. Thanks for any advice.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dan Treace, North FL on Tuesday, May 05, 2015 - 05:02 pm:

Yes to all you posted. Plus maybe the carb was too lean. Driving all the way in low will heat up the motor.

Some info from 'back in the day':

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Royce in Georgetown TX on Tuesday, May 05, 2015 - 05:09 pm:

Was it overheating - in other words, was there indication of temperature above 212 degrees?

If the radiator simply spit out coolant due to over filling, it is not overheating. Water expands when it is warm, and in an unpressurized system the system will spit out coolant until the appropriate level is reached.

The appropriate coolant level is about a half inch below the word "FORD" stamped on the radiator shell in a brass T. In a black T the coolant level needs to be about 4" below the bottom of the radiator cap.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Heavner on Tuesday, May 05, 2015 - 05:10 pm: