Master vibrator

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Master vibrator
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jim B Boyer on Friday, May 08, 2015 - 10:39 am:

I have a master vibrator made by the New York coil Co. and it appears the points are not right. They don't mesh well with the adjusting screw so I was wondering if any of you have a master vibrator you could post a picture of the point contacts where they attach to the adjusting screw? (New York coil Co.)Thank you for your consideration.
Jim

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Andre Valkenaers on Friday, May 08, 2015 - 11:09 am:

Jim,
Is the one you are looking for??

If so I couldn't make it work properly either . need new points but they are hard to find.

I have two KW master coils and they are working well. One is in my 1922 woody and is running for about 600 miles now without any problems. The adjustment with the coils is a little different.
The master coil is set at 1A instead of the usual 1.3A for the coils.

In the attachment a few photos of the coils.

Andre
Belgium

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Willie K Cordes on Friday, May 08, 2015 - 11:33 am:

Jim, the problem with a master vibrator is that when it quits working, the car stops. With individual coils, you only loose one cylinder.
I have a 1912 touring and hooked up a KW master vibrator. I did not notice any improvement in the performance of the engine. I drove 15 or 20 miles and than the car stopped completely. I wired it back to the standard coil system and never tried that master again.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Andre Valkenaers on Friday, May 08, 2015 - 01:31 pm:

Jim,