Anyone have a T welder?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Anyone have a T welder?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Eckensviller - Thunder Bay, ON on Tuesday, June 02, 2015 - 10:58 pm:

I know a bunch of you guys have T-based power units and such but an aircraft mechanic where I work mentioned his father supposedly has a T-engined welder. does anyone here have one or pics of one?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Chad Marchees _____Tax Capital, NY on Wednesday, June 03, 2015 - 06:26 am:

Tim, I want to/gathering parts to build a power unit. I work in a shop that deals with generators. My idea was to build a T powered generator (which is in similar function to output for a welder). Our tech who is into older things and familiar with the era of Model T engines said he did not think it would work well, because the engine might not be able to produce the speed (low RPM like a diesel) needed for proper generation. I asked what if you drive it with a belt and change pulley sizes for the required input. He said if it was an old flat leather belt or even newer v-belt, he felt that it would slip when the generator was under load.

I still would like to experiment with this, maybe it could be chain driven or gear to gear driven. I know most of our diesel generators run at 2800-3000 rpm, and I think that may be pushing a low speed T engine for an extended amount of time. More in the way of thinking it may become a member of the 2 piece crank club from over speeding.

So anything is possible, it would be great to see pictures of it for sure if you could get them.