VW distributor head on Texas T distributor housing won't distribute.

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: VW distributor head on Texas T distributor housing won't distribute.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tom Moorehead on Saturday, June 20, 2015 - 06:32 pm:

I have been running a Texas T distributor set up for many years. On the Poor Boy tour this week, I had something happen and want to know if anyone has had a similar situation.
Car was running very well and suddenly went dead, as if the key switch was turned off. We did all the standard tests and located what could be a bad Petronics pick up. We pulled that unit out and went to a point system, using the same distributor head. Still, no go. We could get fire to the coil wire to ground. But nothing would come out of the cap to the plugs.
I parked the car and got home last night.'
Today, I switched to another distributor head, using the same cap, wires, points, condenser, rotor. The car fired right up. I am still at a loss as to what caused the problem.
Any suggestions as to the cause would be appreciated. Keep in mind that this is not a new set up and has been on the car for several years. No apparent wear in the shaft is noted. I am religious about keeping it lube daily.
All common causes for the failure have been reviewed, with no answers.
Thanks

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Chad Marchees _____Tax Capital, NY on Saturday, June 20, 2015 - 06:37 pm:

Did it loose ground? Do you have an extra ground wire on the unit? I hear that is pretty common, although I have not experienced it.