Losing friends, taking the time to visit.

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Losing friends, taking the time to visit.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John T. Tannehill III, Hot Coffee, MS on Saturday, June 27, 2015 - 10:52 am:

Last Thursday a good friend and local club member passed. Gary Cahill was in his 60s, a quite but avid T modeler. A (retired) architect by trade he always was developing plans for his model T's and putting them into reality. He enjoyed woodwork and it seemed to go hand in hand with the hobby. He loved the beauty and simplicity of the Model T. I was compelled to open this thread because of one of the other post concerning the loss of another fellow enthusiast and a opportunistic visit that was very timely by one of his friends. Gary died of brain cancer. He fought it well with loving support from his sweetheart (wife) and family. During the past two years, In visits with him post surgery and follow up treatment, he was very positive about the outcome. I thought he had beaten it. He never said differently. I write this because during those two years I would visit him sometimes complaining about my woes and his solution was always a ride in his express T model down the country roads in middle Mississippi. Still able to find an abundance of long dirt roads less traveled we would roll through the farmland crossing aged suspended bridges and leaving behind time, the woes and stress. Hearing the comforting cadence of the coils firing the engine, the pace of the ride and scenery were enough to let me relax and drift into a short snooze. Sometimes we spoke about my problems but more times than not the ride down the roads with a friend and the sweet sounds of the model T was therapy enough. By the time we got back to his place and a s