Very bad vibration, can it be the u-joint

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Very bad vibration, can it be the u-joint
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Donnie Brown North Central Arkansas on Sunday, July 12, 2015 - 09:23 pm:

I went on my first tour with the Arkansas Tin Lizzies this weekend. I took the 27 touring I have been working on for about 2 years. I made it about the first 1/2 of the first days tour. The car was OK the first 10 miles or so, then it started a little vibration. It got a little worse till about the 20 mile mark of the trip. Then it started to vibrate bad. I started to look for a place to pull in. The car had been running cool so far, even climbing some steep grades. Then in about a mile it was vibrating so bad my hands and feet were starting to tingle and the car overheated in one mile. I just parked it, and got a ride back to pick up the car hauler. When I got back to the car, and was ready to load it, I figured to start it and see how bad it still was, and maybe drive it on the car hauler. When I started it, there was little to no vibration, and I drove it onto the hauler. When I got it home, the same thing, little to no vibration, although there was some weird very slight gear noise while sitting in neutral. I have about 200 t0 400 miles on a new rebuilt engine. The engine starts and runs great. No overheating, and free starts 90% of the time. We used the best of 6 engines and 12 transmissions to build it. I even bought a new reverse drum on my old gear. Other than the low gear noise being pretty loud, I can not find anything wrong with the engine or trans. The oil screen is clean, the magnet has a little "fuzz" on it probably from the new rings setting in, but still it is very little fuzz. I see no lint from the bands, and t