Crank/Flange access

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Crank/Flange access
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Joel Harris on Saturday, July 25, 2015 - 07:17 pm:

Gents,

Total Newb question…they say the only dumb question is the one not asked….

So I have not taken apart a T motor in 35 years…
I cannot figure out how to remove the 4 bolts that hold the Flywheel to the crank flange?

This motor has an A bottom end and access with anything short of an open end on the four flange bolts is very limited. I even loosed the rear main cap but cannot remove it because the flywheel magnets are in the way

I don't recall my old stock T project from 30 years ago having an access issue with this. I assume it is because of the A mod.

Any suggestions or tips for removing them is appreciated.

Photos attached:

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Nicholas Lingg - Tarboro, NC on Saturday, July 25, 2015 - 07:22 pm:

Get a "low cost" china 11/16" ? wrench and bend it to fit in behind the bearing cap.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rand Ward Payson, Ut. on Saturday, July 25, 2015 - 07:37 pm:

I am in the middle of this issue on my rebuild (26 Tudor) The only way I can get them off is to move the crank around so that one bolt is in the middle between the crank main and the side of the block. If you get it just in the right position, you should be able to put an 11/16 socket on it using a 3/8" socket and an extension. (At least it worked for me) I would then move the crank again until the next bolt was in position and so forth.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Scott Owens on Saturday, July 25, 2015 - 08:00 pm: