The Torpedo Kid: T-chassis questions!

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: The Torpedo Kid: T-chassis questions!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mikael Thelin on Friday, August 21, 2015 - 01:54 pm:

Hi there,

Mikael from Sweden here.

I recently started a new little project inspired by the 1902 land speed record car Baker Electric Torpedo Kid.

Here is the original and it's chassisÖ

I am now in the early days of planning a chassis for the car.
One interesting scenario is to base the chassis on Model-T Ford components (including after market and custom parts from the hot rod world etc...)
I have no prior experience with this kind of cars (normally restore and drive Citroen DSes)

My question to this T community is a large one:

I attach a quick sketch of how the ideal chassis rebuild would basically look compared to a standard T chassis.

Basically it would be great if the wheel base could be shortened a bit, the steering wheel centered and moved forward and front & rear axles mounted on top of the frame, with suitable suspension.
(The car would be powered buy an electric motor attached to the rear axle)

How would you go about to make a chassis like that?

I would really appreciate all ideas and advise at these early stages to explore what can be done.

Check out my page here:
www.torpedokid.com
You can also check out the Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/thetorpedokid

Best regards
Mikael

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dave Hjortnaes, Men Falls, WI on Friday, August 21, 2015 - 10:35 pm:

Looks interesting. You can definitely shorten and lower the chassis. The rest is just ingenuity on your part. Good luck.