Rear wheel hub

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Rear wheel hub
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Philip J. Barnes on Wednesday, August 26, 2015 - 12:47 pm:

Whatever you do. DON'T use an impact wrench to tighten the axel nut. That's what somebody did on the car that I have. So far I have broken the pulling tool that threads onto the hubcap threads, mushroomed the end of the axel a bit, I've tried heating and beating . The wheel will not come off, I tried leaving the nut loose and driving the car on rough roads, still no luck. I think my next step is to cut off the heads of the bolts and try to take the wheel apart and get the wooden spokes out of the way so I can get more heat on it. I've been a mechanic 50 years I've work everything from lawnmowers to bulldozers, I've never seen anything so stubborn as this. I'm thinking 50 to 60ft.lbs. of torque on the axel nut is plenty, with the long taper on the axel shaft.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Justin in South Africa on Wednesday, August 26, 2015 - 01:04 pm:

Hi Philip

I can relate! Right rear would not budge. I gave up for a while but then asked Bob Bergstadt what to do. He sent me a knocker nut ( could have the name wrong ).

Anyway I turned the knocker on tight and smashed it with a 5 pound hammer. A few hellofa hard whacks and the wheel came off.

Not sure if it will help for you, yours sounds severely stuck, but I hope this helps

Justin

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Norman T. Kling on Wednesday, August 26, 2015 - 02:18 pm: