Reversing the commutator rod seems to solve all interference problems!

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Reversing the commutator rod seems to solve all interference problems!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bob Codeglia on Friday, August 28, 2015 - 03:14 am:

Although I'm still a newbie on the Model T, one of the ongoing problems that I noticed pretty quickly is that the commutator rod likes to rub against the fan belt, due to overly-tight clearance issues.

As I struggled with trying to properly adjust a new commutator rod I was installing today (along with my new ANCO Timer kit), it suddenly dawned on me that there must be a better way to connect the spark control lever to the new timer... while also bypassing the lack of clearance problem in the process... and that the way to get-around these clearance problems might be to "think outside the box"... How to do it? Try running the commutator rod OVER the water pipe, and attaching it from behind (instead of from the front).

So, I simply reversed the commutator rod, mounting it from behind, and behold, not only does it all still work just fine, but the rod is now about a half-inch AWAY from the inside edge of the fan belt!

Has anybody else ever tried this idea out on their own machines? While a lot of purists will probably not appreciate the idea, I'd still like to think that maybe Henry had it all backwards... and that mounting the rod the way I did can actually solve some major interference problems!

Anyway, here are a couple of photos of how I ran the rod over and above the water pipe:

Revised Commutator Rod Pic1Revised Commutator Rod Pic2

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Strange - Hillsboro, MO on Friday, August 28, 2015 - 08:27 am: